50th EARCOS Leadership Conference 2018

2018 marks the 50th anniversary of the East Asia Regional Council of Schools. Much has happened in the fifty years since the birth of EARCOS, but one thing is certain. EARCOS has grown from a small regional association to one of the premier promoters and providers of professional development in the world. 

Shangri-La Grand Ballroom first day of conference.

Combined student choir from Alice Smith School, Garden International School Kuala Lumpur, and
International School of Kuala Lumpur directed by Jaymin Baird.

Opening remarks by Dr. Margaret Alvarez, EARCOS President.

Opening remarks by Dr. Larry Hobdell, U.S. Department of State Regional Education Officer, East Asia Pacific.

Keynote speaker Sir John Jones talks about "Fifty Years and Counting – Into the Future On the Road Less Travelled."

Recognition of EARCOS ELM Mentors/Mentees who engaged in the Leadership Development online orientation course for two years.

Keynote Speaker Pasi Sahlberg talks about "FinnishED Leadership: Small Bold Ideas for Big Lasting Change in Your School."

Second day of Conference.

Keynote speaker Kim Phuc Phan Thi talks about "Life Lessons".

Workshop session.

(R) Dr. Ed Greene with (L)Michael Allen in workshop session.

Jesse Roberts workshop session on "Enrolling Successful Families and Keeping Them At the School".

Mark Tomaszewski of Tiecare International welcomes the delegates at the Welcome Reception. Thank you to Tiecare International for sponsoring the Welcome Reception.

(Center) Dr. Catriona Moran, Head of School together with the Saigon South International School delegates.

Head of school at CIS Bangalore Ted Mockrish.

(R)David Carter and (L)Mark Tomaszewski of Tiecare International welcomes the delegates at the Welcome Reception.


Mr. Dick Robbins, President & CEO Brent International School Manila hosted a surprised tribute to Dr. K at the Closing Reception.

Former EARCOS president Dr. Harlan Lyso.

Sherry Krajczar, Dr. Margaret Alvarez, EARCOS President and Dr. K, Executive Director.

(L-R) Dr. K, Sherry Krajczar, Dr. Barry Groves (ACS, WASC), and Dr. Marilyn George (ACS, WASC).

Richard Gaskell, Dr. K, and Martin Skelton.

Thank you to COLLEGE BOARD for sponsoring the Closing Reception. (L-R) Sonny Lim, Dr. K,and Bee Lee Chua.

St. Mary's International School delegates. Koji Shimomura, Br. Michel Jutras, Dr. K, and Sab Kagei, Head of School.

Jane Larsson (CIS,Executive Director), Dr. K,and Elsa Donohue.



>> DAY 1 & 2, and Welcome Reception
>> DAY 3 and Closing Reception



Updated Tuesday, February 19, 2019 2:34 PM